Winter

20140415-183225.jpg

I spent the winter trying to warm a cold heart
I tried to melt the ice with warm words I even tried to blanket it with my pride
I tried to lay with it through the chill of night
I shivered through the storm trying to keep life inside
Howling winds from spacious skies cut like blades from samurai
Resting on thin ice
Frost bitten tears welled in my eyes
I tried
To break the shell that encumbered
This treasure
A sleeping wonder in a nightmarish slumber
I misunderstood how to ignite this life
Tangible heat couldn’t meet its needs
So I relinquished the love that burned within me
And like the dawn
It began to rise
A light began to shine
it opened up like a blooming flower in springtime
Id spend the rest of time bathing in its light
Because it spent the winter bathing in mine

Leave a Reply

